Championship Productions Blog

Archives by Tag 'Connecticut Basketball'

Auriemma, UCONN Win Second Consecutive NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship!

By nate.landas - Last updated: Wednesday, April 7, 2010

The University of Connecticut, led by Geno Auriemma, won their second consecutive NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship and Auriemma’s seventh overall.  The Huskies (39-0) are the first team ever to have consecutive unbeaten seasons, but that doesn’t cover it.  Connecticut has won 78 straight contests and have stamped themselves as one of the most dominant teams ever – in their sport or any other, men or women. 

They’ve been unstoppable over the past two years, winning every game until Tuesday night by double figures, and passing their own NCAA women’s Division I record of 70 straight wins set from 2001-03 in early March. The championship victory put them within 10 of the vaunted 88-game winning streak set by the UCLA men in the early 1970s.

Auriemma, UCONN Set Record for Longest Winning Streak!

By nate.landas - Last updated: Tuesday, March 9, 2010

The University of Connecticut’s women’s basketball team, led by Geno Auriemma, broke its own NCAA record for the longest women’s basketball winning streak.  The Huskies have won 71 straight games with their last loss coming against Stanford on April 4, 2008 in the semifinals of the NCAA Women’s Final Four.  The Huskies average margin of victory throughout the streak is 32 points and no team has come within single digits.

UConn Unanimous #1 in AP Women’s Basketball Preseason Poll!

By nate.landas - Last updated: Monday, November 9, 2009

The University of Connecticut women’s basketball team will open the season as the #1 team according to the 2009-2010 AP Division I Women’s Basketball Poll.  The preseason top 25 also includes:

1.  Connecticut (Coached by Geno Auriemma)
2.  Stanford (Coached by Tara Vanderveer)
3.  Ohio State (Coached by Jim Foster)
4.  Notre Dame 
5.  North Carolina (Coached by Sylvia Hatchell)
6.  Duke (Coached by Joanne Palombo-McCallie)
7.  Baylor
8.  Tennessee (Coached by Pat Summitt)
9.  LSU (Coached by Van Chancellor)
10.  Michigan State 
11.  Xavier
12. Texas (Coached by Gail Goestenkors)
13.  Oklahoma (Coached by Sherri Coale)
14.  Virginia (Coached by Debbie Ryan)
15.  Florida State
16.  Arizona State
17.  Depaul  (Coached by Doug Bruno)
18.  California  (Coached by Joanne Boyle)
19.  Georgia Tech
20.  Kansas
21.  Georgia (Coached by Andy Landers)
22.  Vanderbilt
23.  Louisville
24.  Middle Tennessee State (Coached by Rick Insell)
25.  Rutgers (Coached by C. Vivian Stringer)


Drake University Continuing Education Gold Medal Guarantee Sign Up for our Newsletter Request a Catalog Testimonials Career Opportunities
SecurityWorry-Free Shopping
Championship Productions, Inc. Follow danbergan on Twitter