Championship Productions Blog

Maryland Claims 2010 NCAA Field Hockey Championship!

By nate.landas - Last updated: Monday, November 22, 2010 - Leave a Comment

The University of Maryland field hockey team, coached by Missy Meharg and Tjerk Van Herwaarden, guided the Terrapins to the 2010 NCAA National Championship.  The top ranked Terps beat #2 North Carolina 3-2 in double overtime.  This win claimed the program’s seventh national title and sixth under head coach Missy Meharg.  Maryland has won four of the last six titles (2005, 2006, 2008, and 2010).

With the win, Maryland now owns more national titles than any other school, besides Old Dominion, who has nine. Maryland or North Carolina have won the last six NCAA titles and have met six times in the championship game. Sunday was the first time a championship game went to overtime since 1994.

Write a comment

WP-SpamFree by Pole Position Marketing


Drake University Continuing Education Gold Medal Guarantee Sign Up for our Newsletter Request a Catalog Testimonials Career Opportunities
SecurityWorry-Free Shopping
Championship Productions, Inc. Follow danbergan on Twitter